The benefits of making your own products

The more I started baking and saving money that way the more I thought about making my own beauty products. So many brands have products that appeal to me but have that one ingredient that ruins it all. It can be hard to find a product with all the ingredients you want in it, and some things like toner will save you loads of money.

Reasons to build up your cabinet with ingredients instead of products:

  • It’s cheaper
  • You know exactly what is going in your product and you know exactly how it’s been handled
  • It’s simple
  • Many ingredients are highly versatile
  • Instead of running out for products all the time you just have to keep all your ingredients on hand
  • It’s safer

It may seem daunting at first but the markup for some natural products is just ridiculous. While there are many brands I adore it still kills me that I have to pay 13 bucks for something that would cost me maybe 2 or 3 dollars to make.

Products I make so far: creams, cleaners, toner and masks. Products I will be making when my orders come in: laundry soap, dish soap, hand soap, bath bombs and stomach aid.

Here are some simple and awesome recipes to get you started!

Soothing toner

  • 2 Tbsp Rosewater (I got a really great one on Healthy Planet as well as witch hazel)
  • 2 Tbsp Witch Hazel
  • 1 tsp Vegetable Glycerin (I am getting this from Amazon, but it’s not a mandatory ingredient. It helps with moisturizing and can be used for many other things, so I decided to get some.)
  • 1/2 tsp of aloe vera gel (If you don’t have this you can opt out, but aloe is a staple for me and the plant is SO simple to grow.)
  • few drops of Lavender
  • few drops of Rose Hip Seed Oil (If you have other essential oil preferences feel free to use others)

You put them all in the same container and shake well. That’s it! It doesn’t make a lot, but you can double or trip it as you like. Source: http://manouvellemode.com/2014/07/23/diy-facial-toner/

Homemade All Purpose Cleaner

Ingredients

My Homemade soothing Night Cream

  • A couple tablespoons pure virgin coconut oil
  • 3-7 drops essential oils
  • For healing I have been using: oil of orgenao, lavender and camphor. I have also added emu oil. Any other oils you have would be great to add in.

Mix it up in a little pot or make a bigger batch to fill a bigger container. That’s it!

Detox bath

  • A cup or more of bentonite clay, bath should be a myrky grey. I have started to put a full body mask (ACV, essential oils, boiled water and clay) and letting it dry before going into the bath. It saves clay and the direct contact draws out more and you can focus problem areas.
  • 1-2 cups epsom, sea or other preferred salts.
  • 6-12 drops essential oils such as tea tree, camphor, peppermint lavender, clove. I recently read to be careful with citrus as it could cause chemical burns and also oil of oregano so mix with a carrier first.
  • a few chunks of pure African Black Soap
  • 1/2 cup baking soda
  • I had some bath teas comprised of a bunch of herbs from Three Cats and a Broom on etsy and those were also really nice. I am also going to try ginger tea made from ginger root.

My essential ingredients for homemade products:

  • Some kind of clay
  • Coconut oil (100% pure, unrefined and organic if possible. This can be important. I noticed that normal coconut oil from the grocery store doesn’t really absorb and has weird chunks in it)
  • Rose Water (Canadians can find a cheap brand on Healthy Planet and it has rose extract instead of just being petal water. This makes the money worth it because making this would be difficult and you’d need an organic source)
  • Argan oil (people without curly hair can use it as a hair mask before washing and I also like it for dry and sensitive skin. When my skin gets flaky it does the best job of moisturizing and soothing)
  • Castille soap
  • witch hazel (Healthy Planet)
  • Vegetable glycerin
  • Aloe vera or an aloe plant
  • Organic and unrefined apple cider vinegar
  • Sea salt and Epsom salt
  • White vinegar
  • African Black Soap (I got mine from Saffire Blue)
  • Borax (Found in the laundry aisle)
  • Essential oils (I have used Fabulous Frannie, Eden’s Garden and Saffire Blue. I am trying Now, most of their products are reputable just read reviews and look at ingredients.)
  • Oil of organo (should be 85% or more carvacol. I got mine on Amazon.ca in source naturals brand)
Leave a Reply

