Super Simple Chocolate Chip Muffins

This has been my go-to muffin recipe when I need a fix, these are quick to make and come out great. They make exactly 12 muffins which is rare! Sometimes I add just a little more flour and milk to make jumbo muffins. I got this recipe from prettysimplesweet.com and then modified it to be vegan. EDIT: I find that this batter is a bit thin and the chocolate chips sorta sink but with almond extract they still taste yummy. I might try cutting down the milk next time and adding a touch more flour.

Bakery Style Chocolate Chip Muffins

1 3/4 cups flour (I have been using 1/4 cup or so of white flour, 1 cup of gluten free all-purpose flour and 3/4 cups millet flour.)

2 1/2 tsp baking powder (for buttermilk replace 1/2 tsp of b.p. with baking soda.)

2/3 cups of sugar (I actually used 1/2 cup. I usually like a little less sugar especially when I put it on top!)

I forgot the b.s. which is probably why they rose like this

I forgot the b.s. which is probably why they rose like this

1/4 tsp sea salt

1 flax or chia egg (or one banana)

1 cup of almond or soy milk (I like to use buttermilk and add 1 tbsp of ACV and let it sour for 5-10 minutes)

1/3 cup canola or preferably coconut oil (melted)

1 tsp vanilla or almond extract

1 cup chocolate chips

Wet goes into dry. I just mix the wet in a mixing cup and make a hole in my dry ingredients then whisk it up.

BAKE at 425 for 3 minutes then turn down to 375 and bake for 12-17 minutes. For my oven, these take about 17-20 minutes in addition to the 3.

For a bakery style look, add chunky sugar sprinkles on top. If you don’t have them, you can skip it or use normal sugar if you like. My sprinkles seem to have melted, the oven in my apartment just completely sucks, methinks.

Leave a Reply

