Food for thought – Brown Sugar

I have always wondered what the difference is between light and brown sugar and previously I had deduced very little, and left it at that. After my most recent trip to the grocery store I was wondering if there was something I was missing as almost ALL of the light brown sugar was sold out yet there was plenty of the dark. After checking out this article, I have deduced that in most cases dark brown sugar should be the winner because why wouldn’t you want the caramel taste to dominate? The only time I’d think that light would be preferable is maybe if you want to use it in cookies and not compromise a unique taste at all, but really I can’t see it being a deal-breaker. I have usually bought dark, and lately I have just bought what looked best at the time, but I think I will definitely start buying dark from now on because sometimes you’d want that brown sugaover the light, but not really the other way around.

I have also wondered, is there such a thing as unrefined brown sugar?

Leave a Reply

