This isn’t vegan but…

I had to share this amazing recipe. I am currently baking my second batch now. These are a great pick-me-up on those dull mornings!

Orange Sour Cream Muffins

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup sugarSavedPicture-201534105149.jpg
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/4 cup freshly squeezed orange juice
  • Zest of 1 orange

These are quick to whip up and taste amaaa-zing. The original recipe calls for a glaze, I didn’t use it last time because they are great on their own! I do intend to use it this time, though as I somehow forgot the zest (wop wop). I also used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 3/4 Bob’s Red Mill all-purpose flour and they turned out just fine. So far, I haven’t had any trouble substituting whatever flour I have a hankering for, though it’s supposed to be harder. Perhaps I have just chosen versatile recipes. The first time I subbed I did it with chocolate cookies and used all Bob’s, and they were fine. I also added some allspice to this recipe which complements it wonderfully.

One thing to note, the batter is very thick, I have had to add just a touch more liquid. So make sure you completely smoosh down the tops as they will bake pretty much however you leave them. Usually muffins and cupcake melt into shape a little but these ones won’t.

Leave a Reply

