Slash the price and become a home barista!

As many have, I have succumbed to the powers of the elixir of life, AKA caffeine. If I don’t get my morning coffee I will not be a pleasure to be around. Of any habits I may ever form I think coffee would be the hardest to part with. I know it’s got little nutrition to it, but in my opinion, part of living well is picking your pleasures. Moderation and balance goes a long way. Anyways, I love my coffee but sometimes I want something different, but I don’t feel like going out and I can’t afford to go out for coffee all of the time. Unless you have all of the tools, you will not be able to make coffee at home exactly like you can get it at the coffee shops, but you can still make a tasty treat! And you know where all the ingredients have been. 😉

Ways to spice up coffee:

-Add cocoa or flavourings to the grounds (extracts, powders, oils, all work)

-Try other flavours of milk instead of just regular

-Add in different liqueurs such as amaretto, caramel, peppermint, or anyhting you can find

-Flavour syrups are fun and come in many varieties. Winners often carries them for abour 7$ a piece. The standard kind is Monin but I have found them to be the worst brand and the most expensive.

-Whip up some healthier whipped cream: you can make whipped cream from cocout milk and even regular milk. I was able to get a whipped cream from crap coconut milk that did not separate and a little bit of icing sugar. It has a light coconut taste and doesn’t sit as heavy as normal whipped cream.mocha

-Make your own chocolate syrup for mixing in or drizzling on top.

-Be creative with what you have in your kitchen!

Black Forest cake coffee

*Approx 1/4 tsp cocoa and a drop of cherry flavour per cup (I got my flavour oils at Saffire Blue.) This amount is a subtle chocoalte taste that blends in with the coffee. The first time I tried this, my boyfriend loved it so much he begged me to make another pot!

Banana Split Coffee

*Add a couple drops banana extract, one cherry, one vanilla and 1/4 tsp cocoa per cup. This would be better for larger batches of coffee

Chocolate Orange Coffee

*Orange extract is quite strong so just a little drop of it should suffice per cup plus 1/4 tsp or more of cocoa.

Warm, Spicy coffee

-Cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg or allspice in grounds and a little on top. Add vanilla to grounds or flavour syrup to coffee. If you have it, pumpkin spice flavour to grounds.

Makeshift Cafe Mocha

*Brew a stronger cup of coffee and mix 1/3 to 1/2 chocolate milk, shake up to froth to make fancier. Or, add 1-2 tbs hot chocolate mix to your coffee.

At Home Latte

*Shake up milk, cream or coconut milk in a mason jar or other small jar then microwave, quick shake again. Pour on top of coffee. Sprinkle cinnamon, allspice, chocolate or whatever you like on top. OR you can slowly heat the milk on the stove while whisking.

Homemade Coffee Creamer

*This post gave me the idea of making homemade coffee creamer using condensed milk and flavourings. Coffee creamer can be quite expensive and this way you know there won’t be horrible artifical flavourings. I also think that condensed milk, chocolate milk and chocoalte extract would make a good one for a rich mocha drink.

This post also gives some quick tips to make impressive coffee right at home. When I have guests I like to show off my culinary skills and love of coffee so I just might try the leaf out for my next guests!

If anyone has ideas for fancy coffees feel free to leave a comment! I’d love to hear more ideas.

Leave a Reply

