Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

I found this recipe on instructables.com and I like that these don’t contain eggs so you don’t have to bother with replacing them.

2 cups flourSavedPicture-201531720542.jpg
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
3/4 cup raw sugar
1/2 cup canola oil or preferred “butter”
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup soy milk or water
3/4 cup chocolate chips (or carob chips)

The recipe says it makes 2 dozen and I’d say it would probably make 15-18 normal sized cookies. (I made one batch large sized, one smaller and one in a mini muffin pan, I like to have a size for every kind of snack attack!) This recipe makes for an in-between cake/cookie batter. I also made mine with mostly caster sugar for a lighter dough. I like that for a change and it is great for choosing your size of cookie, some cookie batters tend to melt and move too much for big cookies. If you want something very sugary maybe add 1/4 cup of brown sugar.

The original recipe did not call for a baking time. I guessed 350 and the smaller cookies took about 20 minutes. The big cookies took 30 minutes but it was probably best for them anyways, so they cooked all the way through. Therefore, I would deduce that 400-425 would be good for normal cookies baked for around 12 minutes as the recipe states they should take. (My oven is kinda sucky too so that would add some more time)

Another thing to note is that the original recipe states they feel soft and may get burnt, but for me the outside seemed quite firm and just starting to brown, while the inside seems softer. This could be a benefit from baking them for longer at a lower temp.

Leave a Reply

