Healthy Chocolate smoothie

At work we make a chunky monkey smoothie that tastes so good you won’t even be able to tell it’s good for you! I also love chocolate in smoothies because it completely covers up the taste of spirulina. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve grown fond of that swampy/fishy taste and all the health benefits that come with it, but sometimes I don’t want to cater my smoothie to that. I was tempted to add in Kraft peanut butter, but I knew that would probably taint my whole smoothie. So here is a version for what I had on hand!

1 banana
1/4 cup blueberries
1 tbsp natural cacao powder
1/4 cup vanilla greek yogurt
Preferred amount of fibre (I used probably 1/2 tbsp or less this time combined chia and flax)
Chocolate almond milk (if you have good stuff this might be all you need for chocolate, but real cacao is good for you anyways!)
1/4 tsp spirulina
1 tbsp sunflower seeds

I did this in a mini blender so I added most of the powders and seeds in at the bottom with some milk and pulsed it first. Seemed to work okay. I like to mix in my powders first on slow to make sure they don’t end up on the sides. It’s a little chunky but I don’t mind it!

Leave a Reply

